The laws in California pertaining to drug use, possession and distribution are strict. When you’ve been charged with a drug crime, being aware of these laws and how they will affect your case can be beneficial to the success of your case.
Every person facing a drug charge should be represented by a skilled and experienced attorney. Continue reading to learn more about important california drug laws you should know and how your attorney will help you beat a drug conviction.
California and Marijuana Laws
One of the most important drug laws you need to know are the laws surrounding marijuana. Marijuana became decriminalized in California in 1996 and then legalized for recreational use in 2016.
Under the Adult Use of Marijuana Act, anyone over the age of 21 can consume, possess and purchase up to 28.5 grams of marijuana in their homes or in establishments where marijuana consumption is licensed. If you are over 18 but under 21 and you are in possession of more than 28.5 grams, you could be facing up to six months in jail and a $500 fine.
Also, if you are interested in selling marijuana as a licensed retailer, the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act allows commercial distributors to sell, manufacture and cultivate marijuana and cannabis products to those who have a medicinal prescription or to anyone 21 and over without facing state charges.
This applies only to those sellers who are licensed in California. If you sell marijuana without a license, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to six months in jail and fines up to $500.
Types Of Drug-Related Crimes and Their Penalties
There are many different types of drug-related crimes that you could be charged with including possession, manufacturing, trafficking, or paraphernalia to name a few. Being charged with possession means that you have a drug whether it be heroin, ecstasy, cocaine, or any other type of drug in your possession.
Depending on what drug you are in possession of, you could be facing a misdemeanor or felony charge which could land you in jail and/or a fine of up to $50,000.
Drug manufacturing means that you are being charged with making an illegal drug. For example, someone who was caught cooking methamphetamines in their basement would be charged with drug manufacturing. Again, the risks of a conviction will depend on what drug you were producing and how much of it was produced or that you intended to produce.
If you are charged with drug trafficking, this means that you have been accused of importing or transporting illegal drugs. If convicted, you could spend up to nine years in prison. A paraphernalia charge means that you were in possession of items associated with drug use including syringes, crack pipes, miniature spoons, scales, plastic bags or other items used to transport or consume illegal drugs.
It is important to note that these penalties apply to the state of California only. Federal drug laws are much more stringent that state laws and you could be dealing with longer jail or prison sentences and greater fines if you are facing a federal drug charge.
Get Help From A California Drug Defense Lawyer
As can be seen, a drug conviction can ruin your life. If you’ve been arrested and charged with a drug crime and you need a powerful drug defense attorney to fight for your conviction, get in touch with an experienced and aggressive lawyer as soon as possible.
Your freedom is on the line. Your lawyer will be able to discuss the details of your case and build a powerful defense in your favor so that you can avoid the embarrassment and shame a drug conviction often brings.